polymorph question

parinho7

First Post
what happens if i take a form of a creature with lower hd than my caster level and my own hd, do i recalculate my hd and decrease my hit points?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


i have an other question. what happens to my (magical) weapon if i take a form larger than my original size (assuming that the new form is able to hold weapons)?
does it grow larger too?
 
Last edited:

Unless it's a Sizing weapon, or all magical equipment in your campaign world automatically has the Sizing property (I've known of some Houserules using that to avoid 'mismathed' weapon and armor when the spoils of war are your main source for magical items) your weapon stays the size it was.
 

Alter Self says:

"When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), or melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional. When you revert to your true form, any objects previously melded into the new form reappear in the same location on your body they previously occupied and are once again functional. Any new items you wore in the assumed form and can’t wear in your normal form fall off and land at your feet; any that you could wear in either form or carry in a body part common to both forms at the time of reversion are still held in the same way. Any part of the body or piece of equipment that is separated from the whole reverts to its true form."

Enlarge Person says:
"All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly enlarged by the spell. Melee and projectile weapons affected by this spell deal more damage. Other magical properties are not affected by this spell. Any enlarged item that leaves an enlarged creature’s possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown weapons deal their normal damage, and projectiles deal damage based on the size of the weapon that fired them. Magical properties of enlarged items are not increased by this spell."

So I've always seen it ruled that polymorphing into a bigger creature means your gear sizes with you (if the new form is capable of wearing/using it), and if it leaves your possession, it goes back to normal size. Similar to how invisibility affects all your equipment, too. Until it leaves your person. In general magic that affects someone affects their possessions as well (resist energy [fire] would benefit your backpack, for example), so it's logically consistent that polymorph would work that was as well.
 

Alter Self says:
So I've always seen it ruled that polymorphing into a bigger creature means your gear sizes with you (if the new form is capable of wearing/using it), and if it leaves your possession, it goes back to normal size.

that's what i was thinking so far but then i saw this on the srd:

Size And Magic Items

When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn’t be an issue. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items.

this specifies that only the worn equipment changes size and not the weapon.
 

That's not the same thing as a temporary spell effect increasing your size, though. Enlarge Person specifically increases the size of your weapon. Alter Self doesn't spell it out so clearly, but says if the new form is capable of wearing/using the item, it can stay (ie, creature shape, possession of or lack of hands, etc...). If the original size of the item mattered, you'd think they'd have added some line about "size permitting," too. Enlarge sets the precedent that size altering magic affects all your gear, including weapons, as long as they remain in your possession. Other spells, like invisibility, further confirm this.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top