Power lunge and reach

Mort

Legend
Supporter
I had thought I saw this come up earlier but a search under “power lunge” couldn’t find the thread, so here goes.

Power lunge allows you to add double your strength bonus to a weapon after a charge; but incurs an AoO. What happens if the weapon you are using to power lunge has reach and the opponent can’t target you.

Seems to me there would not be an AoO unless the opponent:
A) also had a reach weapon; or
B) chose to sunder (or possibly disarm) the weapon as their AoO.

Thoughts?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Sounds legit to me and a pretty good feat/tactic combo. As for provoking an AoO, I'm not sure. technically their opponent (unless they too had a reach weapon) doesn't threaten and would be unable to make an AoO even if it was against the weapon. Hmmm...
 
Last edited:

Yep, if someone somehow does something that provokes an AoO from you while they're still outside your reach, then you just don't get your attack.

--Impeesa--
 

A more common example would be trying to disarm someone using a whip. Can't the victim take his AoO to sunder or disarm the whip?
 

By the rules, if you only get any specified AOO against someone when you threaten them. There's no book support for this being turned into an attack against the weapon in other circumstances.

PHB p. 122: "An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened area provokes an attack of opportunity from you."
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top