Protection from Evil - answer urgently needed!


log in or register to remove this ad

Maybe....

If the Devil is a summoned creature than yes it would prevent a NATURAL attack, but not an ARMED attack (in which cas the recipient would get a +2 AC bonus). However a Devils Spell resistance may overcome the Protection and allow a natural attack.

If the Devil is NOT a summoned creature than the best the spell provides is the +2 AC bonus.
 

Emiricol said:
Does Protection from Evil stop the physical attacks of devils?

An excellent question. The answer is yes, but only if A) the devils are present as the result of a summoning or calling, B) only if you don't attack them, and C) only if they fail a Spell Resistance check. Oh, and also D) only if they're using natural weapons like claws and bites, not real weapons.

So basically, the answer is "almost never". On the bright side, however, you still get the +2 AC deflection bonus and +2 resistance saving throw bonus.
 

Well, I was nice and gave him the SR roll. Failed. Paladin died. Turned out to be a moot point, but at least he had every opportunity to live that he should have had.

Thanks all.
 


Kershek said:
How do you roll the spell resistance check? Where is this rule?

Like any other similar check: d20 + caster level vs SR of summoned creature. If the caster level check is equal or greater than the SR of the summoned creature, said creature was not able to overcome the power of the spell and can't attack naturally.

Maitre D
 

Maitre Du Donjon said:


Like any other similar check: d20 + caster level vs SR of summoned creature. If the caster level check is equal or greater than the SR of the summoned creature, said creature was not able to overcome the power of the spell and can't attack naturally.

Maitre D

So creatures without SR are automatically hedged out from natural attacks?
 

Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by summoned or conjured creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures
to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature.

yes.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top