Ok, this is a two-part discussion.
Dragonborn Channeling allows a dragonborn to channel his breath weapon through is weapon, adding it on as extra dice. Does this damage maximize on a crit, or is it rolled (like for sneak attack damage). I ruled the latter (I know what the player is doing...we have a cleric in the party is follows the Oracle paragon path, which allows for a single crit for free as a daily power (I think), and he's hoping to get a maximum damage on his weapon and breath weapon). Opinions?
Secondly, I'm preparing to run the Against the Giants series (starting with the most excellent Steading of the Hill Giant Chief in the latest Dungeon). One of the players came up with a devious idea to exploit a particular ritual, Leomund's Secret Chest. His goal was to create two very large chests, placing one inside the other. The chests would be big enough for the party to fit in (uncomfortably). The ritualist could then cast Leomund's Secret Chest on the larger chest, placing one inside the other. The party would then load up the smaller chest with loot, climb inside the larger chest, then dismiss it. Then, they would cast the ritual to summon the smaller chest back to the safe house. Once they are done selling stuff and resting, they could dismiss the smaller box back to the dungeon, then cast the ritual to call back the larger box...rinse repeat.
Now, the wording for the ritual doesn't really say that this cannot be done, but it seems to me to be an obvious exploitation of the rules as written. Considering that one of the keys to making Steading of the Hill Giant Chief challenging is the careful management of resources as well as the danger of the Steading repopulating slightly while the party withdraws to heal and rest, I felt that this exploitation would interfere with the balance. So, I ruled that the ritualist would need to remain outside of the boxes to dismiss them, which means that someone would need to stay behind. Is this ruling too harsh, or do you think its appropriate? Is there an official ruling from WoTC that clarifies Leomund's Secret Chest?
Dragonborn Channeling allows a dragonborn to channel his breath weapon through is weapon, adding it on as extra dice. Does this damage maximize on a crit, or is it rolled (like for sneak attack damage). I ruled the latter (I know what the player is doing...we have a cleric in the party is follows the Oracle paragon path, which allows for a single crit for free as a daily power (I think), and he's hoping to get a maximum damage on his weapon and breath weapon). Opinions?
Secondly, I'm preparing to run the Against the Giants series (starting with the most excellent Steading of the Hill Giant Chief in the latest Dungeon). One of the players came up with a devious idea to exploit a particular ritual, Leomund's Secret Chest. His goal was to create two very large chests, placing one inside the other. The chests would be big enough for the party to fit in (uncomfortably). The ritualist could then cast Leomund's Secret Chest on the larger chest, placing one inside the other. The party would then load up the smaller chest with loot, climb inside the larger chest, then dismiss it. Then, they would cast the ritual to summon the smaller chest back to the safe house. Once they are done selling stuff and resting, they could dismiss the smaller box back to the dungeon, then cast the ritual to call back the larger box...rinse repeat.
Now, the wording for the ritual doesn't really say that this cannot be done, but it seems to me to be an obvious exploitation of the rules as written. Considering that one of the keys to making Steading of the Hill Giant Chief challenging is the careful management of resources as well as the danger of the Steading repopulating slightly while the party withdraws to heal and rest, I felt that this exploitation would interfere with the balance. So, I ruled that the ritualist would need to remain outside of the boxes to dismiss them, which means that someone would need to stay behind. Is this ruling too harsh, or do you think its appropriate? Is there an official ruling from WoTC that clarifies Leomund's Secret Chest?