Reach 10' and diagonals

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator
In 3.5 if you have a reach of 10', you actually threaten all squares that are 2 squares away, even along a diagonal (DMG p. 29). I believe that this rule exists so as to avoid a weird asymmetry in which a character approaching along a diagonal could get adjacent to an enemy with reach without incurring an AoO (at least that's the reason why I was already using this as an houserule in 3.0).

I was unable to find such a rule in PF and I wonder if it's just an omission or if it was a conscious decision and if so, what might be the reasons behind it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

[IMaGel]http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/6338/gargreachwq6.th.gif[/IMaGel]Well,This chart is what the 3.5 DMG showed...
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/6338/gargreachwq6.gif
img137.imageshack.us/img137/6338/gargreachwq6.gif

unfortunatly d20 license/SRD does not cover that specific issue. It has come up in some rules threads because that bit from the DMG does not show up in the SRD.

If this is a intended change, it is a poor one, allowing for those who have invested in reach to have that reach circumvented by a literal corner case in the rules.

reachm.png

http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/710/reachm.png
 
Last edited:


Actually, Pathfinder RPG does not seem to address this particular issue directly. There is a mention of threatening objects within reach, there are mentions about reach weapons (and that reach weapons do not allow attacking opponents in adjacent squares, while granting ability to threaten opponents beyond adjacent squares up to weapon reach value).

In short, as far as I can tell, the matter is open to personal interpretation.

IMHO, since a creature in a corner square of 5'x5' is between 7,07 and 14,14 feet away, I would probably say something like:
- pull back your belly, breathe carefully and do nothing, and you're safe
- do anything beyond slow and careful movement, and you're one piece of AoOed meat
- and if you happen to be of size Small or smaller, you do not get special treatment, since the AoO guy does not really need to stand in a middle of his square

Regards,
Ruemere
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top