Reach vs Threatening Reach

NewJeffCT

First Post
I just want a rules clarification here.

Threatening Reach 2 means that if a PC closes to engage in melee with from square 2 to square 1 (adjacent), the PC would provoke an opportunity attack. Similarly, if the PC wanted to retreat away from the monster, he would take an OA when he moved from the adjacent square to square 2. (or, if the PC started in square 2 and moved to square 3)

Now, I know that if a creature has reach, but not threatening reach, it would not get an opportunity attack when the PC closed from square 2 to square 1.

I believe the monster would still get an opportunity attack if the PC moved from square 1 (adjacent) to square 7. However, if the PC was in square 2, he would not provoke an opportunity attack by moving from square 2 to anywhere within his move, even though the monster has a reach of 2. Is this correct?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A move, FROM a threatened square, invokes a potential attack of opportunity. If a creature has Threatening Reach 2 then any move, from "square 2", could result in an attack of opportunity at the creature's discretion. Shifting, however, would not.

In other words if the character moves from "square 2", to either "square 1" or out of the creature's threatened area, it will invoke an attack of opportunity.

Remember that, unless otherwise specified, the creature can only make one AoO per opponent's turn. It's also movement FROM a threatened square, rather than TO a threatened square.
 

However, if the PC was in square 2, he would not provoke an opportunity attack by moving from square 2 to anywhere within his move, even though the monster has a reach of 2. Is this correct?

Correct. The creature can reach that square to attack but it does not threaten that square.
 

Correct. The creature can reach that square to attack but it does not threaten that square.

If the creature has threatening reach, yes, if his foe moved from a square just inside his reach, even if his destination is outside the reach, the OA will still trigger.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top