Sorcerer Power clarification

Rechan

Adventurer
Certain Storm Sorcerer powers have the following little notation:

Storm Magic: You can choose not to target a creature in the origin square of the burst.
Does this mean that if someone is in the origin square, they are not hit?

Or does it mean that the sorcerer can target an unoccupied square as the origin square?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

(not having the books with me, but going from memory, if this is what i think it is ...)
Yes, it means you can leave the middle square untargeted (i.e. think of it as the eye of a storm with the squares around it being targeted)
 

(not having the books with me, but going from memory, if this is what i think it is ...)
Yes, it means you can leave the middle square untargeted (i.e. think of it as the eye of a storm with the squares around it being targeted)
But can't you target an empty square with the origin of most bursts? I.e. Scorching Burst doesn't need a target in the center, does it? Or have we been playing it wrong?
 

You've been playing it right.
Just 'cos it says you can choose not to target a creature in square X, doesn't mean there must be a creature in square X.
 

But can't you target an empty square with the origin of most bursts? I.e. Scorching Burst doesn't need a target in the center, does it? Or have we been playing it wrong?
Yes, you can. There are some powers (mostly artificer powers) which require you to center a burst on a creature (usually an ally), but otherwise, you are not required to have any creature in the center of an area burst.
 

You've been playing it right.
Just 'cos it says you can choose not to target a creature in square X, doesn't mean there must be a creature in square X.
So my first reading of the rule is correct: The power ignores the center square if the Sorcerer so chooses (hence, letting him cast it with an ally in the donut hole)?
 

Mostly, yeah.

It doesn't ignore the ally in the donut hole ... it just doesn't target the ally.
Makes a difference if your sorcerer has Coordinated Explosion ...
Look, it's an implement area burst. Look, there's an ally in it. I get +1 to hit. Whoops, I'll choose not to blam my buddy.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top