Spell Storing and Caster Level

Hypersmurf

Moderatarrrrh...
A spell cast from a Ring of Spell Storing uses the minimum caster level required to cast the spell.

If a Sorcerer-15 stores a Magic Missile, when it is cast, it has a caster level of 1.

If he stores a Flaming Sphere, does it have a caster level of 4 (the minimum level for the sorcerer to cast the spell) or 3 (the minimum caster level for a wizard or druid to cast the spell)?

Does the Spell Storing weapon special quality also use the minimum caster level (as the ring), or the caster level of the person who stores the spell? The ring specifically notes the minimum, the weapon quality doesn't say. And scrolls and wands, for example, can be made with the crafter's caster level if he so desires.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It is really annoying that this is left out of the ability description for the weapon. Since the spell storing ring is minimum, I use minimum for the weapon ability also.
 

I'd use the minimum caster level for any spell-storing item. That goes for the weapon special ability, the vibrant purple ioun stone, the ring of counterspells, whatever.
 

And how about where the spell has multiple minimum caster levels?

I can understand the market price argument - even if it costs Sam the Sorcerer 3000gp to make a Wand of Flaming Sphere, it only costs Walt the Wizard 2250, and since Walt sells his for 4500gp, Sam can't charge any more or nobody will buy from him.

But the principles of a free market economy aren't necessarily relevant to a ring of spell storing :) So does Sam's ring cast Flaming Sphere at CL3 or CL4?

-Hyp.
 

I agree with the good Doctor Zoom. Minimum level for all spell storing.

It does make Heighten a more useful feat, eh?

Greg
 

Hypersmurf said:
And how about where the spell has multiple minimum caster levels?

I can understand the market price argument - even if it costs Sam the Sorcerer 3000gp to make a Wand of Flaming Sphere, it only costs Walt the Wizard 2250, and since Walt sells his for 4500gp, Sam can't charge any more or nobody will buy from him.

But the principles of a free market economy aren't necessarily relevant to a ring of spell storing :) So does Sam's ring cast Flaming Sphere at CL3 or CL4?

-Hyp.

If you know who cast it into the storage device, you know the answer. If you don't know, the DM decides. As a rule of thumb, I use the lowest possible value, to avoid min-maxing.

Greg
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top