Things that don't translate to the table top

nomotog

Explorer
One of my hobbies is to look at video games/movies/books and wonder can you make an RPG about that. I have a lot of fun with it mostly because a lot of ideas don't translate well, so lets talk about that.

Alternate paths: I love them in video games and one imagines that the freedom to solve a problem in multiple ways would be perfect for an RPG, but I only spare a token amount of time to add them to my encounter ideas. The game is just too open and it's virtually guaranteed that no matter what I think of the players will think of something different, or nothing at all.

Visuals: I guess this one is something of a no dua, but trying to replicate something you like because it looks cool is really hard in a table top. I have kind of bumped into this a lot when I would watch a movie and think wow that could make a cool RPG only to hit a block when I realize it just looked cool. I'm no artist.

Exploring and finding: This one relates to the visuals bit, but has anyone found a way to replicate the feeling that exploring gives you in a video game. If you have ever played a game like fallout 3, you should know what I mean. Your always scanning every place you visit looking for secret loot. I can't think of a way to replicate this in a table top game that doesn't seem unfair or just boring. (The old trap problem fits in here too.)

Stealth: Has anyone found a way to do stealth with more depth then making the players roll a stealth check? Like a full suite of distractions, take downs and other tools? (I think this one likely can be done. I just don't quite know how to do it.)

So anyway do you think I am wrong about these ideas being hard to translate, do you have any solutions or other untranslatable elements?

Celebrim

Legend
Hmmm.