Thunder Hooves Rage multiplicable?

So, going over the Thunder Hooves Rage power again, I have yet to find an answer about gaining the +1[W] multiple times by moving through the same enemy's space multiple times. Am I missing something mind-numbingly obvious?


Thunder Hooves Rage:
~cut~
Effect: You enter the rage of the thunder hooves. Until the rage ends, you can move through one or two enemies’ spaces during each of your turns. When you move through an enemy’s space, your next attack against that enemy during the same turn deals 1[W] extra damage.


So question is: If you move through a single enemy's square multiple times on a turn, do you gain additional +1[W] damage on your next attack that turn?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

My own read of it is that "an enemy's space" means that if you meet that contidition, however many times you meet that condition, you get the bonus once.
 

Yeah. . .I'm no rules lawyer, but my impression of the wording "your next attack against that enemy during the same turn deals 1[W] extra damage" is 1[w] flat. If it was anything more than just 1[w], it would say so. It just says that it deals an extra 1[w] damage is all.

Jay
 

The issue I still have is the power intended to only accumulate one extra [W] damage against an enemy. However, is there rulings upon this power or how its worded that supports this claim?

Does the +1[W] count as a bonus from the same source that can't stack, or is it meant to stay off interpretation itself?
 

This is an if / every ambiguity. I'd be inclined to rule in favor of if, since you can get the bonus against two enemies.

So: IMHO, you get max +1[w] vs. each foe.

Cheers, -- N
 

I've learned this technique from these very forums and it works wonders for me in my games, when I GM.

When the effect would come into play, one should ask one question:

A) Has the target been moved through? If the answer to this is Yes, then the effect activates.

It is pretty simple, it doesn't matter how MANY times you say yes, the power is only interested in whether there IS a yes (once or fifty times, doesn't matter). :)
 

The issue I've had with that concept is that the wording says "When you move through..." acting as a condition that can be met multiple times as if activating multiple occurrences of the effect. If the wording said "If you move through..." I would understand, but the "when" seems to imply a condition that can be met multiple times.
 



A simpler question: Should a power of this level be able to add +3d12 (easily, possibly +9d12 or more with an elf, the run action, boots of speed and an action point for an extra move action) extra damage? Ever? Let alone every round until the end of the encounter?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top