Two wizards and one +1 Staff of the War Mage

Telperion

First Post
There are two 1st lvl wizards in my gaming group, who have recently acquired a +1 Staff of the War Mage as loot.

My question is: if wizard #1 uses the staff's Daily Power and then hands the staff over to wizard #2, can wizard #2 use the staff's Daily Power before the party takes an Extended Rest?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No. The use of daily item powers is limited by both the item and the user.

It would work if you had an Artificer. (They can reset the item but not characters' item uses.)
 

There are two 1st lvl wizards in my gaming group, who have recently acquired a +1 Staff of the War Mage as loot.

My question is: if wizard #1 uses the staff's Daily Power and then hands the staff over to wizard #2, can wizard #2 use the staff's Daily Power before the party takes an Extended Rest?

No.

PHB, page 226.


"A magic item’s daily power can be used
once per day ...."

See also the FAQ (item 6): http://wizards.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wizards.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1396

Carl
 
Last edited:


If the item's power has the Healing Surge keyword next to the power you can recharge the power by spending a healing surge as a standard action (and don't get any hitpoints back)

The bloodcut armour in the PHB is an example of this.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top