While I assume that a Cleric Character can not use a wand of Magic missiles, I am having a hard time finding a specific rule on this subject. The closest I come to it is on Pg 175 of the CRII (DMG) where it says "anyone with a spell on his of her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell." This leads me to believe that you can only use a wand of magic missiles if you know that spell, but there is a note in parens saying "this is the case even for a character who can't actully cast spells, such as a 3rd level paladin.)
Does this mean that you can use a wand if you have the potential to learn the spell stored in the wand or does it mean you can use the wand if you have the potential to learn any spell. Specifically since Magic Missile is a Wiz / Sor spell then only those two classes can use that type of wand. or if you have rog / BRD with use magical device.
Thank you in advance for your response.
Does this mean that you can use a wand if you have the potential to learn the spell stored in the wand or does it mean you can use the wand if you have the potential to learn any spell. Specifically since Magic Missile is a Wiz / Sor spell then only those two classes can use that type of wand. or if you have rog / BRD with use magical device.
Thank you in advance for your response.