Wand Question

Angelsboi

First Post
If someone created a wand of contagion, the spell has a range of touch. Do you activate it and it takes affect on you to touch someone or how does this work?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



kreynolds said:
If your wand is contagious, I suggest you don't touch anyone with it, IYKWIM, AITYD.

It took me a minute to think of what IYKWIM, AITYD means. And yes, IKWYM, but thats not what i meant =)
 

Angelsboi said:
If someone created a wand of contagion, the spell has a range of touch. Do you activate it and it takes affect on you to touch someone or how does this work?

I haven't used a wand of a Touch spell yet. I would have thought that you touch with the wand (you don't provoke AoO neither for activating nor for attacking, and both as done with the same standard action), but I now wonder if this has some consequences with the fact that if you miss a touch attack you still have the spell charged to attempt another attack.

Of course, the issue here is also if you can have the other hand free.
 

I would rule that you must touch with the wand. As for missing with a touch attack, if the spell discharges, or dissipates (as per the spell description) then the charge on the wand would also dissipate. You can have the other hand free as a wand only weighs about an ounce according to the DMG.
 
Last edited:

Tyris Harmon said:
You can have the other hand free as a wand only weighs about an ounce according to the DMG.

I meant this: if you touch with the wand, you can hold whatever with the other hand; if you activate the wand (you need to hold it) and deliver the touch attack with the other hand, you are using 2 hands. We still have to find out which of the 2 ways is the correct one, my point was just a secondary consequence :)
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top