So, here is the current fear sweeping the Paizo boards, and I'm kind of hoping to get some clarification.
Say that I print a book under the GSL, folllowing all the rules and guidelines to the letter.
In that book, I create a new base class, the Monk. The Monk currently doesn't exist in 4th edition. It's not part of the SRD at the time i print my book, and we're not worried about IP or copywrite here because mine is a whole new creation, it just uses a class common name. A similair example woudl be making a new monster based on a mythological creature you guys have not yet used.
But in two years, when say the Players Handbook 3 come out with a bunch of Ki based classes and the offical Monk base gets printed, what happenes when you guys add the word Monk as a reference to the SRD?
Am I now suddenly in violation of the GSL, because my book details a Monk class, even though they are obviously not the same class? Will I be able to continue printing my book, because I did not redefine the term Monk because mine was printed first?
Obviously the two classes won't be the same. Mine will have powers I made up, a different skill list, and probaly completely different class powers. But a lot of people have taken a very draconian reading of the GSL and begiun saying that at any time you guys coudl print a monster/race/class, add the name ot the SRD and put somebody who already made up that monster/race/class in violation.
What will happen in this situation, where something new is created whole cloth, and then the name gets folded into the SRD later due to Wizards creating a different version?
Say that I print a book under the GSL, folllowing all the rules and guidelines to the letter.
In that book, I create a new base class, the Monk. The Monk currently doesn't exist in 4th edition. It's not part of the SRD at the time i print my book, and we're not worried about IP or copywrite here because mine is a whole new creation, it just uses a class common name. A similair example woudl be making a new monster based on a mythological creature you guys have not yet used.
But in two years, when say the Players Handbook 3 come out with a bunch of Ki based classes and the offical Monk base gets printed, what happenes when you guys add the word Monk as a reference to the SRD?
Am I now suddenly in violation of the GSL, because my book details a Monk class, even though they are obviously not the same class? Will I be able to continue printing my book, because I did not redefine the term Monk because mine was printed first?
Obviously the two classes won't be the same. Mine will have powers I made up, a different skill list, and probaly completely different class powers. But a lot of people have taken a very draconian reading of the GSL and begiun saying that at any time you guys coudl print a monster/race/class, add the name ot the SRD and put somebody who already made up that monster/race/class in violation.
What will happen in this situation, where something new is created whole cloth, and then the name gets folded into the SRD later due to Wizards creating a different version?