Falling Icicle
Adventurer
FAQ said:Does a wizard (or other spellcaster who prepares spells) with a metamagic rod (Dungeon Master’s Guide, 236) activate it when preparing spells (thus preparing three
spells with a metamagic effect without paying the extra spell level cost) or when casting spells (allowing her to apply the metamagic effect to any three spells she likes)?
The latter. The metamagic rods function the same for any spellcaster—they allow her to apply a metamagic effect “on the fly” when casting the spell to be affected. The exception is the sorcerer (or by extension, any other spontaneous spellcaster) who must still use a full-round action to cast the affected spell.
Why punish Sorcerers? So Wizards can use metamagic rods on the fly, totally ignoring the usual restrictions they have when using those feats, but sorcerers are still bound by their restriction? Why?
Is there any good reason for this?