Zone Sustain requirements

MatthewH86

First Post
Hello!

I've been reading through the site for various questions I've had about 4E and have usually found answers, but couldn't find an answer for this one.

In the LFR games I've played, one of the GMs said that I need to be adjacent or inside a zone to sustain it, whereas other GMs seemed happy to just spend the action to sustain (the zone was Consecrated Ground).

I know you need to be able to take actions for you to sustain zones which require sustaining, but are there any other requirements?

I.E.

  • Do you need to be adjacent or inside a zone to sustain it?
  • Do you need to have LoS to the zone to sustain it?
  • Do you need to have LoE to the zone to sustain it?
  • Do you need to be within range of the zone to sustain it?
  • Any other requirements?
Sorry if it's been posted before.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hello!

I've been reading through the site for various questions I've had about 4E and have usually found answers, but couldn't find an answer for this one.

In the LFR games I've played, one of the GMs said that I need to be adjacent or inside a zone to sustain it, whereas other GMs seemed happy to just spend the action to sustain (the zone was Consecrated Ground).

I know you need to be able to take actions for you to sustain zones which require sustaining, but are there any other requirements?

I.E.

  • Do you need to be adjacent or inside a zone to sustain it?
  • Do you need to have LoS to the zone to sustain it?
  • Do you need to have LoE to the zone to sustain it?
  • Do you need to be within range of the zone to sustain it?
  • Any other requirements?
Sorry if it's been posted before.

You do not need LoS or LoE to any power to sustain it.

However:

If the zone is -moveable-, then it goes away at the end of your turn if it is outside of the range of the power, or outside Line of Effect.

Consecrated ground is a moveavle zone, however if you are not in the area of the zone at the end of your turn, the zone goes away, sustained or not. (The range is close burst 1)

Cloudkill is a zone that has Area burst 3 within 20. That zone must always be within 20 squares of you, or else it fizzles at the end of your turn.

Sustaining is not relevant to this rule.

A stationary zone or conjuration, however, one that does NOT move, does not have this limitation. Wall of Ice, for example, does not move, and even tho it has a range of 10 squares, you can move more than ten squares away from it and there's no problem.
 
Last edited:

Consecrated ground is a moveavle zone, however if you are not in the area of the zone at the end of your turn, the zone goes away, sustained or not. (The range is close burst 1)

To clarify a tad, the creator has to be within range of at least 1 square of the zone (using the power's range). So for Consecrated Ground, as long as the zone is within burst 1 of the creator it doesn't disappear.
 


I reread zones today and I can't seem to find that zones end at the end of your turn if you are outside the range. In PH, it says they end immediately, as opposed to end of turn.

Can someone point out the relative rules text on that?

Thanks.

Edit: Nevermind, I see that Zone was updated in PH2.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top