Close-Quarters Fighting

Lilinthra

First Post
The feat is in Complete Warrior. Simple question: would a character with this feat be able to take the Attack of Opportunity against a creature the character can not reach?

For example, a huge monster succeeds on an attack from 10' away that gives improved grab, and the target is a medium-sized PC with this feat and a non-reach weapon.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

The feat is in Complete Warrior. Simple question: would a character with this feat be able to take the Attack of Opportunity against a creature the character can not reach?

For example, a huge monster succeeds on an attack from 10' away that gives improved grab, and the target is a medium-sized PC with this feat and a non-reach weapon.
3.5 FAQ says:

If an enemy makes an attack against me that would
provoke an attack of opportunity (such as a disarm or
grapple attempt), do I get the attack of opportunity if I
can’t reach him? Would the Close-Quarters Fighting feat
help at all?

Strictly speaking, if you don’t threaten an enemy, you can’t
make attacks of opportunity against that enemy. Thus, if an
ogre tried to sunder your elf’s longsword from 10 feet away,
you wouldn’t get an attack of opportunity against the ogre
(since an elf wielding a longsword doesn’t threaten an enemy
10 feet away). This is true even if the ogre is reaching out with
his hand, such as when trying to grapple you.

Even the Close-Quarters Fighting feat doesn’t help, since
that feat applies only when the attack of opportunity against a
grappling foe normally would be denied by “a feat or special
ability that would normally bypass the attack” and lists
Improved Grapple and improved grab as examples.

If, as DM, this bothers your sensibilities and you and your
players are willing to bend the letter of the rules a bit, consider
the following house rule that the Sage has used in his games in
the past: If a foe would provoke an attack of opportunity with
any action that brings him (or something he holds) into contact
with you or your space, you may make an attack of opportunity
against the foe (or the object he holds, if that’s what’s
contacting you). This means that an ogre trying to initiate a
grapple would provoke an attack of opportunity that you could
make against the ogre (since his hand and arm are clearly
coming within your reach to grab you), while the same ogre
trying to sunder your weapon with his greatclub would provoke
an attack of opportunity that you could make only against the
greatclub (that is, with a disarm or sunder attempt).
 




Yeah, it was a good response. However, let me put forth a possible other interpretation that would let the victim in the OP's scenario take his AoO: Improved Grab specifically pulls the victim into your square. Why can't the victim with CQF take his AoO once he' been pulled into striking range, but before locked in a grapple? As long as the AoO is still interrupting the action triggering it, does it matter down to the split second when it occurs?
 

As long as the AoO is still interrupting the action triggering it, does it matter down to the split second when it occurs?
It matters a LOT because you don't get pulled into the monster's space until AFTER you fail the grapple roll. CQF grants you a bonus to that grapple roll based on the results of that AoO.
 


Remove ads

Top