Nightwalker Crush Item ability

thorian

Explorer
Does the nightwalker’s crush item ability happen in the same round the nightwalker grabs the item, as a part of the disarm, or must the nightwalker use the crush item ability the round after he grabs the item?

Also, disarm may be used in place of a melee attack, but crush item is a (Su) ability. Can crush item be attempted using the action type of disarm or does it require a standard action?

Crush Item (Su): A nightwalker can destroy any weapon or item of Large size or smaller (even magic ones, but not artifacts) by picking it up and crushing it between its hands. The nightwalker must make a successful disarm attempt to grab an item held by an opponent. The item is entitled to a DC 34 Fortitude save to resist destruction. The save DC is Strength-based.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Seems it's part of the disarm, we play it that way, nothing in the wording tells the contrary.
Remember a story, in Return to the tomb of horror, near the end in the Fortress of conclusion we met a Nightwalker hiden in some darkness, after some rounds of spell throwing the monster close with me (Cleric of the sun), the barbarian NPC (level 16) whom I regenerated the arm at the start of the adventure come to help me, he is disarmed of his vorpal axe (found in the adventure) which is destroyed in the process...... very bad move from the Nightwalker, the barbarian draw his cherished old axe; an undead bane ghost touch thing, enter greater rage and nearly obliterate the beast, next round he is disarmed but rolls a natural 20 for the axe, grab it back and finish the undead.
Great moment.
 

I read it as the nightwalker gets one 'free' disarm attempt when using the ability.

1. Activate SU ability as a standard action.
2. If item is held by another, use the rule subset of disarm to determine if the Night Walker can do so. Since it has improved disarm, no AoO is drawn.
3. Roll the item's mediocre save. The item probably will need a natural 20 to be a DC of 34, "A magic item’s saving throw bonus equals 2 + one-half its caster level (round down)".
 

The item probably will need a natural 20 to be a DC of 34, "A magic item’s saving throw bonus equals 2 + one-half its caster level (round down)".

I believe a magic item in the possession of a PC gets to use the PC's save modifiers or the item's modifiers, whichever are better (usually the PC's). An item not in a PC's possession uses the item's save modifiers.
 

I believe a magic item in the possession of a PC gets to use the PC's save modifiers or the item's modifiers, whichever are better (usually the PC's). An item not in a PC's possession uses the item's save modifiers.
I also believe a magic item in the possession of a PC gets to use the PC's save modifiers. Which is why the the Nightwalker's ability involves taking the item from the character first.:devil:
 

If you look at the round-by-round tactics; you will plainly see that the disarm attempt is a separate standard action, as is the crush attempt. If the nightwalker had to pick up the weapon off the ground, would this be only a standard action (to pick it up and crush it), like most people have stated for in combat use?

Ciao,
Dave
 


No need to be snarky...:erm:
Sorry, the tone was meant to be a "copy and paste that response" agreeing with you on the use the 'use possessor's saves" point, rather than spewing your words back at you. Second sentence & Devil smiley was meant as commentary on how take and break is a delightfully insidious way around large save bonuses.

If the 3.5 MM indicates it has to have the weapon already, in the round by round tactics section, that is good enough for me. Though I'll question both the wording of the ability and how it interacts with the critter's CR and the value of it's actions.
 

If you look at the round-by-round tactics; you will plainly see that the disarm attempt is a separate standard action, as is the crush attempt. If the nightwalker had to pick up the weapon off the ground, would this be only a standard action (to pick it up and crush it), like most people have stated for in combat use?

Ciao,
Dave

That is what I get for using the SRD. The round-by-round tactics in the MM clears it up for me. Thanks.
 

Remove ads

Top