How long does it take to throw a splash weapon?

shilsen

Adventurer
The PHB says (pg.141) that it takes a full-round action to "prepare to throw [a]splash weapon". So does that mean one can throw one splash weapon a round or one every second round (since the first is spent preparing it for throwing)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Throwing items is a standard action, obviously. That means by process of elimination, preparing an item in need of preparation to be thrown is an MEA. The number of weapons which can be thrown in a round, therefore, is determined by the individual's BAB: A full attack would allow him to hurl one item per +5 BAB.

However, if the item is not thrown on immediately following preparation, something bad could potentially happen. In the case of a grenade, for instance, pulling the pin, and then not throwing it at somebody, generally results in having it blow up in your hands. Thus, it's an MEA to pull the pin, a free action to shout "FIRE IN THE HOLE!", and a standard action to throw.
 

I think the "prepare splash weapon" line on that table may be misleading. I think it refers to creating splash weapon out of a flask of oil.

In the Equipment section of the SRD, the description of Oil says: "You can use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist's fire, except that it takes a full round action to prepare a flask with a fuse."

To me that implies you can throw alchemist's fire, and the other splash weapons, without needing that round of preparation.
 
Last edited:

AuraSeer said:
I think the "prepare splash weapon" line on that table may be misleading. I think it refers to creating splash weapon out of a flask of oil.

In the Equipment section of the SRD, the description of Oil says: "You can use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist?s fire, except that it takes a full round action to prepare a flask with a fuse."

To me that implies you can throw alchemist's fire, and the other splash weapons, without needing that round of preparation.

I'd forgotten about that reference, and I think you're probably right in saying that this is what the table refers to. I thank you. All my "tanglefoot bag and acid flask and alchemists's fire"-carrying PCs thank you :)
 

That makes sense. Lobbing a straight throwing object is a standard action, just as throwing a dagger would be a standard action, whereas lobbing something that requires some form of extensive preparation, such as a Molotov cocktail, would thus require an MEA as a preparation.
 



Remove ads

Top