Smite ability (Su)

mikebr99

Explorer
Hi there,

Is the activation of a Smite ability a free action which can be used multiple times per round if you have multiple attackes and multiple smites? Or is it a standard action... which includes one melee attack?

A Hunter of the Dead, who is also a Paladin would be able to Smite an Evil Undead with both of his abilities on the same attack...

thank you,

Mike
 

log in or register to remove this ad



pawsplay said:
I believe it's "not an action", strictly speaking.

I think this is correct. If it was a free action, you couldn't smite on an AOO that didn't happen on your own turn.
 

I would go with the "not an action" because it is part of another action, possibly a full attack.

If you had two smites and twf, I would think you could activate one on each weapon.
 

I think, by a strict reading, it's option two... because a Su ability is a standard action unless otherwise specified.

I activate Smite Evil as a standard action... what does it permit? It permits me to smite evil with one normal melee attack.

Much like Sunder, for example.

In practice, I run it as not-an-action that modifies a melee attack already derived from another source.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
I think, by a strict reading, it's option two... because a Su ability is a standard action unless otherwise specified.

I think the question is whether its description is specifying otherwise.
 

pawsplay said:
I think the question is whether its description is specifying otherwise.

Right. What does the Smite Evil (Su) ability allow you to do?

It allows you to smite evil with one normal melee attack.

It reads to me that the Su ability grants a single melee attack that can be used to smite evil.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Right. What does the Smite Evil (Su) ability allow you to do?

It allows you to smite evil with one normal melee attack.

It reads to me that the Su ability grants a single melee attack that can be used to smite evil.

-Hyp.

However, a full attack incorporates one or more normal melee attacks. As does an Attack of Opportunity. When it says "with" an attack, that suggests you are already making an attack. It doesn't say "you may smite evil, which is a standard attack action."

It appears to me that smite is available any time a normal melee attack is available.
 

Hypersmurf said:
a Su ability is a standard action unless otherwise specified.
Although that is what the rules say, that is not strictly correct. There are many SU abilities that (conclusively) do not require actions, yet none-the-less do not actually state that they do not require actions.

Smite is almost certainly like those.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top