Telekinesis Questions

Infiniti2000

First Post
Telekinesis is a complicated spell. Several portions:
SRD said:
Duration: Concentration (up to 1 round/ level) or instantaneous; see text
Saving Throw: Will negates (object) or None; see text
Spell Resistance: Yes (object); see text
Too many "see text" answers if you ask me. :)

Without further ado, the questions:
  1. Can you switch from combat maneuvers to Sustained Force on a round per round basis? It would seem weird that you can grapple two different people or perhaps disarm their weapons and yet not 'grab' two separate non-creature objects.
  2. Let's say you're using (a) combat maneuvers or (b) sustained force. On the first target you fail SR, does the spell end?
  3. Let's say you're using sustained force. The first target makes a Will save, does the spell end?
  4. You successfully disarm a victim. (a) Do you end up with the weapon? (b) If yes and the answer to #1 is no, then how can you end up with the weapon?
  5. Considering that this spell is cast by a familiar using Imbue Familiar with Spells, the DC and combat modifiers are based on the master's intelligence, correct? (wizard class)
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Telekinesis is a complicated spell.
It is troublesome to provide definitive RAW answers for this spell. I now really see how wildly the spell can flux in power between DM readings as I too granted the spell much more flexibility than apparently intended.
Can you switch from combat maneuvers to Sustained Force on a round per round basis? It would seem weird that you can grapple two different people or perhaps disarm their weapons and yet not 'grab' two separate non-creature objects.
I used to think you could switch between each option every round, however after reading it over again, I do now think each version is a separate casting.


Let's say you're using (a) combat maneuvers or (b) sustained force. On the first target you fail SR, does the spell end?
Not for combat maneuver at least, but "If the caster fails the check, the spell doesn’t affect the creature." so you don't get to try again with that casting.
Let's say you're using sustained force. The first target makes a Will save, does the spell end?
First target? Are you sure the sustained force lets you even change targets? Again, I used to think it did, now it seems you target the object when you cast the spell and then manipulate it for the rest of the duration.
You successfully disarm a victim. (a) Do you end up with the weapon? (b) If yes and the answer to #1 is no, then how can you end up with the weapon?
This can be argued many ways. I'd rule the caster has to take the -4 unarmed penalty IF he wants the weapon to fly into his hand in addition to the disarming.
Considering that this spell is cast by a familiar using Imbue Familiar with Spells, the DC and combat modifiers are based on the master's intelligence, correct?
All depends on the wording of the ability.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top