Last night my DM (a fairly inexperienced one - I'm the usual DM for the group) subjected my character to a pretty bad interpretation of the Charm Person spell. His evil NPC wizard cast it during a fight and told my character to run away from the battle. The DM said that for the next hour I was going to run away at top speed, leaving my companions to die in the fight.
I told him that according to the rules that I should at least get a +5 bonus to the roll (since my character wouldn't normally leave his companions during a fight). I also told him that my interpretation would be that the spell automatically wouldn't work because he and his allies were attacking the party. I also told him that it doesn't control me like a dominate person spell would.
At any rate, my character is removed from the climactic battle of the scenario; the group is in a dire situation without my character; and (perhaps worst of all) I have to sit there with nothing to do because of a bad rules interpretation.
What I told him was "I think you're not reading that correctly. We can discuss it after the combat." Do you think I should have raised more of a stink about it and stopped the game until he got this right? (He tried the same manuever on the party's barbarian too after he got my character - luckily the barbarian saved or it would have been really bad.)
Retreater
(This is one of those instances in which my Avatar name seems oddly fitting.)
I told him that according to the rules that I should at least get a +5 bonus to the roll (since my character wouldn't normally leave his companions during a fight). I also told him that my interpretation would be that the spell automatically wouldn't work because he and his allies were attacking the party. I also told him that it doesn't control me like a dominate person spell would.
At any rate, my character is removed from the climactic battle of the scenario; the group is in a dire situation without my character; and (perhaps worst of all) I have to sit there with nothing to do because of a bad rules interpretation.
What I told him was "I think you're not reading that correctly. We can discuss it after the combat." Do you think I should have raised more of a stink about it and stopped the game until he got this right? (He tried the same manuever on the party's barbarian too after he got my character - luckily the barbarian saved or it would have been really bad.)
Retreater
(This is one of those instances in which my Avatar name seems oddly fitting.)