Knowledge skills in combat

npiccini

Explorer
When a group enters combat and a PC wants to make a knowledge check to learn information about an opponent, is that a standard action? or is it done using a passive check?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd say passive check for basic information, minor action for more detailed stuff (actually roll).

Note "Monster Knowledge Checks" on PHB 180. "No action required..."
 

I think rules as written you either know it or you don't. I think Dalzig's solution is fine (the person is trying hard to remember and takes a small amount of time) but the RAW is you either immediately remember or you don't know.
 

I'd say that this could be considered a "Free Action", so that not only does it not take any actions from your turn, but you can do it during another's turn as well.
 

Er. So is it a free action, that you can't reroll?

If making a check to gain monster info is a free action, and you can make infinite free actions a round, it's an auto take 20 RAW. (There is no limit on free actions, right?)

Please tell me how this is mistaken -- I'm sure it's against the spirit of the rules! :)
 
Last edited:

I think rules as written you either know it or you don't. I think Dalzig's solution is fine (the person is trying hard to remember and takes a small amount of time) but the RAW is you either immediately remember or you don't know.

RAW, it's no action. Either you know it or you don't. So basically it's passive Knowledge (take 10) plus whatever bonuses you have. DC 15 for name, type and keywords, DC 20 for powers, and so on according to the chart.

RAI, I'd allow for a single minor action to try and beat the Take 10 value per character to see if they recall any more information about the creature.
 

As has already been mentioned, this is answered on pg 180 of the PHB.
It's "No Action" - you get one roll, you either know it or you don't.
I allow players to roll whenever a creature is mentioned, or encountered.
So, if the oplayers are hired to clean out a kobold lair, they would roll immediately to find out how much they know about kobolds.
Then in that lair, when they encounter a Guard Drake, they roll to see if they know what it is and and how much they know about it.
 

Tervox, don't worry you only get one roll. There are actually spots that mention this. In the take 10 rules it says the DM is likely to use passive (auto-take 10) on monster knowledge at the beginning of a battle. It doesn't state that this is a steadfast rule. It also says that you can only take ten outside of an encounter, but I think this is an exception. In the knowledge check section it doesn't say anything about it always being passive or rolled, but it does say "the DM might allow you to make a new check if further information comes to light." This implies you only get one roll unless you get new info.

This is a long way of saying, you only get one roll, but whether or not you roll or it is a passive check is basically up to you.
 

Remove ads

Top