Ways of Dividing Treasure-How do You do it?

National Acrobat

First Post
A little background first-I have been DMing for nearly 20 years, 12 with the same bunch. In 2e magic items were more class specific, armor and big weapons went to fighters, wands to wizards, etc. The group has always used the cast a d20 for every item you want rule to divide treasure. However, there was always a rule in place that class specific items went to the characters that could use them. In 3e I have noticed things are a bit different. Some classes can use skills such as "Use Magic Device" to acquire items like wands, Amulets of Natural Armor work for anyone, etc. This has caused a large amount of controversy now because it seems to me that the randomness of dividing treasure no longer has a place. Several players are upset. My question is, as a DM, this seems to me to be a character/player problem that they need to work out themselves. Do you agree? Should it be a fair system or should it be winner take all? Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Greatwyrm

Been here a while...
This is a character problem. As a DM, I wouldn't get too involved unless the problem grows to the point where noone is having fun.

If people are really getting upset, you could always suggest that the gp value of the items are taken into account when treasure is split up. If everybody but Mr. X gets a useful item, then Mr. X should get a cut of the next treasure haul off the top to at least make up the value difference. That way he can buy or have items commissioned that will be useful to him.

Again, that's just a suggestion. Ultimately, whether your players do the accounting or just cast lots for everything, it's still up to them.

Spove

First Post
I would try to get them to resolve the issue in roleplay. They should be forced to stick with their alignment when debating who gets what. Although this can both help and hinder depending on alignment.