Extra Domain as a feat?




+ Log in or register to post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Supressive Overlord
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Bront's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Aurora, IL
    Posts
    22,818

    Ignore Bront

    Extra Domain as a feat?

    Is there a feat that allows for a cleric to take an extra domain? I seem to recall one, but I don't quite remember what book it's in.

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    cmanos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY, Rochester
    Posts
    896

    Ignore cmanos
    sounds like it would be unbalancingly powerful....

    L1 Human Cleric with 4 domains and 4 Domain powers....

  • #3
    I was thinking I would allow it in a second. They only get one domain spell per day, and most of the domain powers arn't that powerfull. I can't think of any that are gamebreaking. Strength and Travel are cool domains, but I would allow either in exchange for a feat. Without changing the mechanics, but changing the explanation of the source, I could see allowing those to a figher or rogue in exchange for a feat slot.

    PS, sorry Bront. It sounds familiar, but Don't remember where I saw it.
    "Hmm. My common sense is tingling." Pielorinho
    Is this discussion about what the rules say or what we think they should say? -TheGogmagog

  • #4
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    werk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    3,150

    Ignore werk
    I do think it would be unbalancing, domain powers are really nice when added to the already powerful cleric.

    I don't know of a feat that does this, usually it's from PrCs.
    '``'``'``'``'``'``'``'`

    http://b6.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/0...15952336_m.jpg

    '``'``'``'``'``'``'``'`

  • #5
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Dakhran the Dark's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    89

    Ignore Dakhran the Dark
    According to WotC's Feat Index, there is a feat called Bonus Domain in two separate sources: Epic Level Handbook (p51) and Complete Divine (p89).
    http://www.deadorc.com/dakhran/sig-dakhran.gif
    "What kind of dark wizard in league with nameless forces of primordial evil are you that you can't even make a successful sanity check versus boredom?" (8-bit Theatre)

  • #6

  • #7
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Kafkonia's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    1,403

    Ignore Kafkonia
    I believe there's also one in the Net.Book of Feats.
    Kaf's Creation Index

    Anarchy! Chaos! Madness! Immorality! It's the return of the Temple of Existential Evil in unHack/Existentialism!

  • #8
    Registered User
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)

    irdeggman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia USA
    Posts
    4,738

    Ignore irdeggman
    Quote Originally Posted by Dakhran the Dark
    According to WotC's Feat Index, there is a feat called Bonus Domain in two separate sources: Epic Level Handbook (p51) and Complete Divine (p89).

    They are both Epic feats though.

    So per the RAW I'd say no, unless it was an epic feat.

    There are several prestige classes that grant a bonus domain. Also the cloistered cleric from UA grants Knowledge as a bonus domain.

    I believe that anytime a bonus domain is granted from a prestige or variatn class is is from an extremely limited list (1 or 2) and the epic feat only allows from one of the deity's other domains (normally 3 to 5 domains each).
    Duane Eggert

    Claim your Birthright!!!
    http://www.birthright.net/

  • #9
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Rystil Arden's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, MA
    Posts
    38,388

    Ignore Rystil Arden
    Yup. Gaining the additional domain power (which may itself actually be a feat is pretty powerful for a feat. A non-epic version could probably be created that only gives you the spells in the domain as an option and not the granted power. Still limited to your deity's other domains of course.

  • #10
    Registered User
    The Great Druid (Lvl 17)

    Crothian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    44,513
    Blog Entries
    12

    Ignore Crothian
    I found a feat that does this in Eldritch Sorcery but it wasn't introduced into the game till we were 15th level so not nearly as bad.

  • + Log in or register to post
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Feat that gives extra AoO?
      By Oryan77 in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: Saturday, 24th November, 2007, 05:29 PM
    2. Extra Spell Feat = Extra Confusing [2006 Thread]
      By Mistwell in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 82
      Last Post: Monday, 5th November, 2007, 03:26 PM
    3. Why is the Extra Rings feat designated an Item Creation feat?
      By Laman Stahros in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: Wednesday, 15th September, 2004, 06:25 AM
    4. Extra Feat?
      By DM Magic in forum General RPG Discussion
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: Wednesday, 3rd September, 2003, 02:57 PM
    5. OA shaman extra domain
      By hong in forum Older D&D Editions and OSR Gaming
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: Tuesday, 21st January, 2003, 08:02 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •