New clause in iPhone 4.0 makes some iPhone RPG apps illegal?

catsclaw227

First Post
OK gang -

I am NOT a lawyer, so someone who might be can help me answer this question...

There's a new clause in the iPhone 4.0 Software Development Kit (SDK) that is making lots of people crazy. Apparently, only approved, Documented APIs may be accessed by any iPhone apps (and only using certain languages) and any private APIs are now banned.

Apple Gives Adobe The Finger With Its New iPhone SDK Agreement

Important Part said:
3.3.1 — Applications may only use Documented APIs in the manner prescribed by Apple and must not use or call any private APIs. Applications must be originally written in Objective-C, C, C++, or JavaScript as executed by the iPhone OS WebKit engine, and only code written in C, C++, and Objective-C may compile and directly link against the Documented APIs (e.g., Applications that link to Documented APIs through an intermediary translation or compatibility layer or tool are prohibited).

Does this mean that iPlay4e and any other iPhone apps that reference an external APIs (private or non-approved Documented APIs) are now going to be illegal?

Will an app that accesses the DDI now be illegal as well?

The article is about Adobe and Flash, but it seems like it can apply to many different apps that use an intermediary layer to access an external API.

Last edited:

filthgrinder

First Post
This means iphone OS API's. It means that you can't comb through iPhone OS byte code, find an undocumented API and then start using it. The idea also is that you don't have an app that then calls stuff from another app.

iplay4e.com is just a website. Building an app to look at a website is fine. This will have no effect on RPG apps, or really any app actually. Its really nothing all that big at all. It is basically saying, "don't hack our OS".

OverloadUT

First Post