Is this OK, or is it simply awful?

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member
I'm not participating in Nanonnomowrinamomono or whatever the hell it's called, but I was inspired by it to take a quick stab at a novel I've been thinking about writing for over a decade now.

I've never written fiction before. But I made a start - just the first page or two. But I can't judge its quality at all, being the person who produced it.

I'm OK with it being awful. I don't fancy myself as a novelist. I have some plans for the plot - scenes where the hero is hovering in front of a carrier battlegroup, wondering what went wrong as they launch planes at him, or having a fundamental moral disgreement with the government (directly to the Prime Minister's face) etc. and having the novel chart the way he becomes viewed as a supervillain despite just being a normal guy who got superpowers and tried to do his best to do the right thing. He's going to be a Superman level superhero, so he's viewed as a world threat, and the novel will explore how the real world would react to him (for example, the carrier group would have reconfigured radar systems designed to detect a hovering human sized target).

Anyway, I've attached the first couple of pages. I'm woefully aware that there's no actual dialogue in it, and it comes across quite distant in that sense.

I don't even know if I'm going to continue. Fiction isn't something I've tried before, and it's hard putting words to paper.

Attachments

• rafoas.pdf
    91.6 KB · Views: 98

fba827

Adventurer
First off: kudos for actually scribbling down what has been in your head for years, and kudos for also for having the guts to put it out here. :)

Writing: it's full of all these european spelling, grammar, colloquialisms, and such... you do know that's not real English, right?! :p (i'm kidding)

More seriously, I wouldn't call it awful. It's decent; it would take a few more pages for me to get used to the writing style