D&D 5E Running an online game

Quentin3212

First Post
Hello, I've been following the forums as a non member for some time and recently decided to sign up so that I could post a question of my own.​

I am currently running a d&dnext game in which one of my players expressed an interest in setting up a side business which he could run throughout the course of the campaign. Now the side business he wants to establish is a narcotics ring, and after giving it some thought
I decided that due to the nature of said business it would require some side sessions at least while he was getting established.

this is where my question comes in, I have decided to run these side sessions through a Facebook group as we are fairly busy and at times arranging for time to play outside our normal schedule can be difficult. I have a few years of dm experience running games at the table but I completely lack experience in running them online.

I am posting this here to ask for some advice in regards to running d&d via the Internet, and any advice is welcome.

some additional notes:
- the setting is home brew of my own design
- I intend to bring other players in for this in order to make it more interesting, but I want to keep the party small.
- I'm choosing a Facebook group as the medium because it allows me to upload PDFs of all the characters etc. and being Facebook everyone will get notifications on their phones whenever someone posts, which I hope will mean less chasing after people.

Last edited:

Kobold Stew

Last Guy in the Airlock
Supporter
The blog post linked below my name (left) addresses some general concerns about online games that I feel hold true for maintaining the player's experience. Since this is incidental to the main campaign, some of the issues are less urgent than they are if everything is online.

But that's a start for you.

Quentin3212

First Post
Another reason I want to run via Facebook is because it's something most people already use.