My girlfriend was a Succubus!
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    daemonslye's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Somewhere in the Vast Swamp south of Sundl, TX
    Read 0 Reviews

    ° Block daemonslye

    ° Friend+

    My girlfriend was a Succubus!

    Questions Regarding A Succubus:

    1. If we assume that the phrase "can assume any humanoid form
    of Small to Large size" to mean that a succubus may only assume
    the form of a *humanoid* (as defined by the monster manual),
    can someone give an example of a large-size *humanoid*?
    Otherwise, should we assume this extends to "monstrous
    humanoids"? What about other "two armed, two legged,
    one headed" creatures?

    2. Assuming the "Alternate Form" ability is dispellable similar to
    polymorph self, but is a supernatural ability, while "polymorphed",
    the succubus would need to first dispel the magic, reverting to
    natural form, before changing into a new form - Correct?

    3. Because a creature cannot use supernatural abilities in
    polymorphed form, and a succubus must dispel the magic (with
    standard action) before using a "kiss-energy drain" attack (not to
    mention other "acts of passion"; urp!) it is unlikely non-charmed
    folks could be talked into this. To me, though interesting to
    imagine the scenario ("no, no, hon - let's keep the lights out"),
    this seems to run counter to the modus-operandi of the
    creatures; Infiltrate, and keep 'em kissing... Because
    the "Alternate Form" ability is only "similar" to - but not
    *exactly like* poly self, would it be a stretch to put aside the
    "no supernatural abilities" rule for this creature? Any one know
    of similar cases (lycanthropes, jackleweres?, etc.)?

    4. If the succubus is wearing a specially made chain shirt
    (assuming the armor feat was taken) that allows for wings,
    I assume that if the succubus takes the alternate form
    of a human, the chain shirt would "translate" to that form
    (without rents apparent in the back). However, in the case
    that human form was taken, then a chain shirt was donned -
    What happens when the succubus dispels the form?
    Would damage be taken (ala the old attempt to use enlarge
    to burst people out of their armor - clarified not to do this)?
    Would the dispel not work (trapping the succubus in that form)?
    Would the armor somehow change to meet the needs of the
    new form? Would the armor simply, magically, fall off?
    If damage, what is reasonable based on armor type?

    Thanks for your help/input,


    SRD - Succubus:
    Alternate Form (Su): Succubi can assume any humanoid form of Small to Large size as a standard action. This ability is similar to the polymorph self spell but allows only humanoid forms. While using this ability, a succubus gains a +10 circumstance bonus to Disguise checks.

    SRD - Doppleganger (included for reference):
    Alter Self (Su): A doppelganger can assume the shape of any Small or Medium-size humanoid. This works like alter self as cast by an 18th-level sorcerer, but the doppelganger can remain in the chosen form indefinitely. It can assume a new form or return to its own as a standard action.

    SRD - Creature Overview:
    Humanoid: A humanoid usually has two arms, two legs, and one head, or a humanlike torso, arms, and head. Humanoids have few or no supernatural or extraordinary abilities, and usually are Small or Medium-size. Every humanoid creature also has a sub-type modifier based on its race.

    POLYMORPH ("official errata"):
    When the polymorph occurs, the characterĺs equipment, if any, transforms to match the new form. If the new form is a creature that does not use equipment (aberration, animal, beast, magical beast, construct, dragon, elemental, ooze, some outsiders, plant, some undead creatures, some shapechangers, or vermin), the equipment melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional. Material components and focuses melded in this way cannot be used to cast spells. If the new form uses equipment (fey, giant, humanoid, some outsiders, many shapechangers, many undead creatures), the casterĺs equipment changes to match the new form and retains its properties.

    POLYMORPH ("official errata"):
    The subject retains its own type (for example "humanoid"), extraordinary abilities, spells, and spell-like abilities, but not its supernatural abilities.

  2. #2
    I'd simply say that succubi can use their powers while using their alternate form ability. It solves all your probles, and makes quite a bit of sense with their methods.

    As to changing forms while in armor... I'd say damage would be most appropriate. Polymorph changes armor to fit the new form if you're wearing it when the power is activated, but I don't see any reason why it would change when the power was dispelled. That's assuming it's not something that was changed by the power, of course.

    In your situation, I'd probably only say a d4 or so of damage. Wings wouldn't cause that much trouble. For something like an ogre mage, I'd say 1d4 for every two points of AC the armor provides. Magical armor would be tricky, since it wouldn't break as easily. Not sure what I'd do in that instance.

  3. #3
    You make sense there, but the thread title leave me wondering...WTF?

  4. #4
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Gez's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Read 0 Reviews
    I Defended The Walls!

    ° Block Gez

    ° Friend+
    Large Humanoid ? OK. Here's one: Shinomen Naga, from Oriental Adventures.

    Sometimes, these categories don't make sense.
    Shinomen naga and sahuagin are humanoids, and centaurs are monstrous humanoids.
    Ormyrrs are monstrous humanoids, and mindflayers are aberration.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Similar Threads

  1. My girlfriend has a question....
    By Otterscrubber in forum *Pathfinder, Starfinder, Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, OSR
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: Wednesday, 2nd June, 2010, 11:13 AM
  2. Joy. It's the Buddy's Girlfriend.
    By deathdonut in forum *General Roleplaying Games Discussion
    Replies: 80
    Last Post: Saturday, 5th April, 2008, 03:42 PM
  3. So, the DM Wants His Girlfriend to Play....
    By Atavar in forum *General Roleplaying Games Discussion
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: Wednesday, 19th September, 2007, 10:28 PM
  4. How to tell a friend's girlfriend to get a job or something?
    By MadMaxim in forum *Varied Geek Talk & Media Lounge
    Replies: 109
    Last Post: Thursday, 7th July, 2005, 01:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts