Excel Help!

Ibram Gaunt

First Post
Hello

I'm looking to start building a spreadsheet to handle my Fields of Battle stuff.

HOWEVER I have never programmed a THING for Excel. I'm a total noob.

Anyone have any suggestions on how best to learn it?

Thanks

Sir Whiskers

First Post
If you've never used Excel at all, I have two recommendations:

1. (Cheap) Get a "dummies" book. Most of these books are actually pretty good at walking a new user through the most basic tasks, with plenty of graphics and useful tips. Cost: $20 or so.

2. (Not-so-cheap) Take a 1-2 hour course at your local community college. The intro classes usually do a decent job of walking you through the exercises, and to learn a program you really have to just get in there and do stuff with it. Also, I've found that the textbooks are first-rate, if expensive (the ones I have are by a company named Course Technology). The main drawback is that there's always someone in the class who doesn't know how to open a file, or start windows, and he/she will slow everyone else down. Also, you can't be sure you'll get a good instructor, or someboyd just faking it. Cost: $50-$60 per credit hour, plus $40+ for the textbook.

Regardless of your learning method, use it or lose it. The only way to remember is to keep at it. And the best way to learn how to do some of the obscure stuff is to just play around.

Also, I believe there are a couple websites where you can post specific Excel questions and get them answered. Here's one bulletin board that might help:

http://www.mrexcel.com/board2

Good luck!

Dimwhit

Explorer
Sir Whiskers said:
Also, I believe there are a couple websites where you can post specific Excel questions and get them answered. Here's one bulletin board that might help:

http://www.mrexcel.com/board2

Good luck!

mrexcel.com is an amazing site. I can't believe the knowledge some of those users have. I had no clue about some of the things Excel was capable of until going there.

AutoSponge