MechaPilot
Explorer
While running my usual weekly game last week, one of my players asked about holding an action to cast a spell.  I told him the rules, and he inquired if he could recover the cast spell if it wasn't used.  I told him about the way the rules handle it (the spell is spent regardless of using it) and I gave it a moment of thought.  I decided on the following temporary house rule:
A caster who holds a spell and doesn't use it can, as a bonus action, attempt to recover the spell energy by making an arcana or religion check (whichever is appropriate). The DC of the check is 15 + the spell's level.
What do you think?
				
			A caster who holds a spell and doesn't use it can, as a bonus action, attempt to recover the spell energy by making an arcana or religion check (whichever is appropriate). The DC of the check is 15 + the spell's level.
What do you think?
 
				 
 
		 
 
		 
 
		 
 
		 
 
		 
 
		