Item Creation and Caster Level again

Stalker0

Legend
Alright, I thought I had this figured out. I've read Sean K. Reynolds topic on item creation and the others on the forum, and I was finally convinced that the caster level listed in the dmg for items was not the needed caster level, since it wasn't under prereqs. But then I read this passage:

DMG pg. 178 under "Caster Level"

"For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level.)"

So tell me guys, am I back to needing a 17th level wizard for pearl of power, or am I missing something?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Not sure on that. Ive got a question on magic items. How the hell do you make a wand of fireball as a 3rd level caster? (which is listed specifically in the DMG)
 

Just curious, what led you to think another caster level lower than 17 could make a pearl of power. I always thought you had to have at least the listed caster level from the DMG to make such an item..
 
Last edited:

Stalker0 said:
"For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level.)"

So tell me guys, am I back to needing a 17th level wizard for pearl of power, or am I missing something?
It means that you can't make an item of a higher caster level than you are yourself. So, if you're 7th level and make a pearl of power: 2nd level spell, it will have a caster level of 7, not 17. If level is a direct prerequisite, it will be listed under prerequisites (e.g. cloak of resistance).
Originally posted by Taloras
How the hell do you make a wand of fireball as a 3rd level caster? (which is listed specifically in the DMG)
Have you checked if the errata mentions it?
 

Re: Re: Item Creation and Caster Level again

Staffan said:

It means that you can't make an item of a higher caster level than you are yourself. So, if you're 7th level and make a pearl of power: 2nd level spell, it will have a caster level of 7, not 17. If level is a direct prerequisite, it will be listed under prerequisites (e.g. cloak of resistance).

That's what I thought, but if you read the quote, it says that the person's caster level must be as high as the ITEM's caster level and even mentions the prereqs could RAISE THIS HIGHER, which means that the caster level shown must be a part of the prereqs for the item.

And hammy, in answer to your question, this came up in a post awhile back, and kreynolds showed me why you have to look under prereqs to find what you need, the caster level shown is just for what you would find if you found the item.

However, after finding the quote above, I'm not so sure.
 

You are not missing anything. The off-book comments by Monte Cook and Sean Reynolds are in direct contradiction with the text of the DMG (in the place you have noted, among a few others). Strictly by the book, an item's "caster level" is indeed a minimum on the creator's level.

www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 

dcollins said:
You are not missing anything. The off-book comments by Monte Cook and Sean Reynolds are in direct contradiction with the text of the DMG (in the place you have noted, among a few others). Strictly by the book, an item's "caster level" is indeed a minimum on the creator's level.

www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html

Thanks for the quote dcollins, damn it was like the guy was reading my mind. My take is that the official word is the caster level is like a prereq, but that appears to be more a misprint as the designers obviously through their articles intended the system to be different. Whether they are not aware of the passage in the dmg, or they are simply trying to cover up a mistake- their intentions appear to be clear.

So I chalk this one up to spirit of law vs letter of law, and let everyone decide their way.
 

Stalker0 said:
Whether they are not aware of the passage in the dmg, or they are simply trying to cover up a mistake- their intentions appear to be clear.

That may be, but I don't think they're clear on the implications of what they're saying. I've not yet been able to get a clear answer on when market price should be raised or lowered due to a hypothetical change in caster level on an item (per linked article above) -- and that's a pretty key issue at the point when a player creates a magic item.
 

hammymchamham said:
Just curious, what led you to think another caster level lower than 17 could make a pearl of power. I always thought you had to have at least the listed caster level from the DMG to make such an item..

It was clarified by the authors that the item caster level specified for each in the DMG has the sole purpose of calculating item stats which are tied to the creator's caster level, i.e. item saving throws against spells.

If you are not the DM, it was very suggested to ignore the listed caster level completely: just read the "prerequisites" entry for needed spells and eventually everything else; you can figure out the real minimum caster level, if you want, but once you have all the listed prerequisite (plus, of course, the specific item creation feat) you can craft the item.
 

Remove ads

Top