Infiniti2000
First Post
Creature: a gargantuan dragon with snatch (but without improved grab of course)
PART A (core only)
What size creature can the dragon grab a hold of?
1. Size Huge or smaller, due to the text "as though it had the improved grab special attack."
2. Size Medium or smaller, due to the text "three or more sizes smaller."
PART B (assuming you chose 1, including supplemental rules)
1. Does the text on Improved Snatch in the Draconomicon change your mind?
2. The dragon grabs hold of a Huge creature.
2a. Can the dragon squeeze for automatic bite/claw damage? I think everyone will say no to this.
2b. Can the dragon fling the creature?
PS. Any references to RotG, the FAQ, or anything else would be appreciated. This is not a RAW-only question, but please be specific in your response whether you answer based on RAW or not. Thanks.
PART A (core only)
What size creature can the dragon grab a hold of?
1. Size Huge or smaller, due to the text "as though it had the improved grab special attack."
2. Size Medium or smaller, due to the text "three or more sizes smaller."
SRD said:Snatch [General]
Prerequisite: Size Huge or larger.
Benefits: The creature can choose to start a grapple when it hits with a claw or bite attack, as though it had the improved grab special attack. If the creature gets a hold on a creature three or more sizes smaller, it squeezes each round for automatic bite or claw damage. A snatched opponent held in the creature’s mouth is not allowed a Reflex save against the creature’s breath weapon, if it has one.
The creature can drop a creature it has snatched as a free action or use a standard action to fling it aside. A flung creature travels 1d6 × 10 feet, and takes 1d6 points of damage per 10 feet traveled. If the creature flings a snatched opponent while flying, the opponent takes this amount or falling damage, whichever is greater.
Improved Grab
If a creature with this special attack hits with a melee weapon (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. No initial touch attack is required. Unless otherwise noted, improved grab works only against opponents at least one size category smaller than the creature. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a -20 penalty on grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature’s descriptive text). When a creature gets a hold after an improved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space. This act does not provoke attacks of opportunity. It can even move (possibly carrying away the opponent), provided it can drag the opponent’s weight.
PART B (assuming you chose 1, including supplemental rules)
1. Does the text on Improved Snatch in the Draconomicon change your mind?
2. The dragon grabs hold of a Huge creature.
2a. Can the dragon squeeze for automatic bite/claw damage? I think everyone will say no to this.
2b. Can the dragon fling the creature?
PS. Any references to RotG, the FAQ, or anything else would be appreciated. This is not a RAW-only question, but please be specific in your response whether you answer based on RAW or not. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: