Quick Draw and Ring of Force

Noctrem

First Post
Okay soo i had this great idea of for my duskblade (duel Wield rapiers) to use Quickdraw to draw weapons during my combat phase and at end of turn Quick Draw it back into its shelth and activate my ring of Force. Both are Free actions so i dont see a problem with doing it, but i am not sure.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hey dude, nice of you to finally post on here. I'll make an ENnie of you yet :]

Hyp in the thread I Started said that you can't QD as a free action, so no-go on your uber combo.

Now, get posting! :p
 

More precisely, Quick Draw allows you to draw weapons as a free action, but has no effect on the time it takes to sheathe a weapon.

-Hyp.
 

What you can do is get a glove of storing, which allows you to store and retrieve an item as a free action. On your turn, deactive your ring of force shield and retrieve your weapon from your glove of storing, attack, and at the end of your turn, store your weapon in your glove of storing and activate your ring of force shield.

Alternatively, get Improved Buckler Defence from Complete Warrior, so that you can get the buckler's shield bonus to AC and still attack with a weapon in your off hand. This imposes a -1 penalty on all your attacks, but a buckler can potentially provide a better shield bonus to AC (up to +6) than a ring of force shield.

By the way, a rapier is technically a one-handed weapon, not a light weapon, so even with Two-Weapon Fighting, you will attack at -4 for each weapon. To enjoy the lower attack penalty, use a short sword (lower crit range), a kukri (lower base damage) or an elven lightblade (also from Complete Warrior, requires Exotic Weapon Proficiency, or if you are an elf, you can get proficiency with all elven exotic weapons with Improved Weapon Familiarity).
 


FireLance said:
What you can do is get a glove of storing, which allows you to store and retrieve an item as a free action. On your turn, deactive your ring of force shield and retrieve your weapon from your glove of storing, attack, and at the end of your turn, store your weapon in your glove of storing and activate your ring of force shield.

...

This combo works, but that's four free actions in a round which may be more than your DM allows - there is no firm rule on how many free actions you may take in a round.

"Free actions don’t take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn"
 
Last edited:



Sithobi1 said:
Four free actions in a round too much? Are you saying an archer with Rapid Shot and BAB 11 or more can't take a full attack?

Certainly not.


The rules are clear that Free Actions are NOT unlimited in a round, but they also completely defer to the DM to make a judgfement call on when a character is attempting to do to mant things in a round.

When someone wants to use a Glove of Storing and a Ring of Force both twice in his/her turn, that's a DM call as to whether that is possible or not. The rules give no guidance whatsoever on that call, as far as I can recall.
 

Sithobi1 said:
Four free actions in a round too much? Are you saying an archer with Rapid Shot and BAB 11 or more can't take a full attack?

Er, color me confused here, but I fail to see the corelation.

Please explain.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top