New FAQ 23/11/06 [Merged]

Iku Rex

Explorer
New FAQ

There's a clarification on the monk's belt:

FAQ said:
Does a monk’s belt (Dungeon Master’s Guide, 248) grant
a non-monk wearer his Wisdom bonus to AC?

Yes.
Note, however, that the wearer gains the AC bonus
only when unarmored and unencumbered, since the belt clearly
states that “this AC bonus functions just like the monk’s AC
bonus.”
There's a ruling regarding metamagic rods:
FAQ said:
Does a wizard (or other spellcaster who prepares spells)
with a metamagic rod (Dungeon Master’s Guide, 236)
activate it when preparing spells (thus preparing three
spells with a metamagic effect without paying the extra
spell level cost) or when casting spells (allowing her to apply
the metamagic effect to any three spells she likes)?

The latter. The metamagic rods function the same for any
spellcaster—they allow her to apply a metamagic effect “on the
fly” when casting the spell to be affected.
The exception is the
sorcerer (or by extension, any other spontaneous spellcaster)
who must still use a full-round action to cast the affected spell.
The rods "...confer... the ability to use the given feat a specified number of times per day." Wizards with metamagic feats use them when preparing spells. I would have thought a wizard with a metamagic rod would likewise use it during spell preparation. But then again the rods allow you to "cast" three spells per day with the relevant feat applied, so I suppose the FAQ answer is reasonable.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

log in or register to remove this ad

WotC FAQ updated

The new FAQ is up at the WotC site. Lots of rulings on much-debated issues. To wit:

If I attack from inside an antimagic field (Player’s Handbook, 200) using a magic weapon, do I gain the benefit of the weapon if the target is outside the antimagic field?
What about if I attack from outside against a target inside?

In neither case does the weapon’s benefit apply. Both the attacker and the target must be outside the antimagic field for any magic of the weapon (or other effects) to apply. (If you
made a ranged attack across an antimagic field—that is, from outside the area, across some part of the spell’s area, against another target outside the area—the attack would resolve
normally.)

Does the shield of force created by the ring of force shield (Dungeon Master’s Guide, 232) require a free hand to use, or can I use it when wielding two weapons or a twohanded
weapon?

The item is silent on the issue, so the Sage believes it appropriate to assume that the ring’s shield functions just like a normal heavy shield (except for the lack of armor check
penalty or arcane spell failure chance). Thus, it requires a free hand to gain the shield’s benefit.
Of course, a character wielding a weapon in that hand could activate the ring after making his attacks for the round (thus gaining its benefit while enemies attack) and deactivate it
at the start of his next turn (allowing attacks with that hand). While you wouldn’t be able to use the shield hand to make attacks of opportunity while the shield was active, you’d
otherwise be nearly as effectively protected as if the shield were active continuously.

Does a wizard (or other spellcaster who prepares spells) with a metamagic rod (Dungeon Master’s Guide, 236) activate it when preparing spells (thus preparing three
spells with a metamagic effect without paying the extra spell level cost) or when casting spells (allowing her to apply the metamagic effect to any three spells she likes)?

The latter. The metamagic rods function the same for any spellcaster—they allow her to apply a metamagic effect “on the fly” when casting the spell to be affected. The exception is the sorcerer (or by extension, any other spontaneous spellcaster) who must still use a full-round action to cast the affected spell.

Does a monk’s belt (Dungeon Master’s Guide, 248) grant a non-monk wearer his Wisdom bonus to AC?

Yes. Note, however, that the wearer gains the AC bonus only when unarmored and unencumbered, since the belt clearly states that “this AC bonus functions just like the monk’s AC bonus.”

Opinions?

And play nice ;)
 


Infiniti2000 said:
Boo! Hiss! ...on the last answer. The others are...acceptable.
The ring of force one I dislike. I don't like "only for the duration of my action" things like this, I think it makes the turn-based thing play a larger role than it already does (which is a bad thing).

And sorcs can't use a metamagic rod of quickening? That seems.... harsh. Had that been make clear before?

The monk's belt just seems like the correct ruling. A bit powerful in a few odd cases, but correct. And I think, the original intent of the authors.
 

This one is bad:

Can a monk get her unarmed strike enhanced as a magic weapon?
No. Even a magic gauntlet or spiked gauntlet isn't the ideal answer, since those aren't listed as special monk weapons (and therefore aren't as versatile as unarmed strikes)...


Looks like the FAQ author didn't read the description of a gaunlet:

Gauntlet: This metal glove lets you deal lethal damage rather than nonlethal damage with unarmed strikes. A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed attack.
 

Part of this one is wrong:

Can a pearl of power be used to recall a spell of a lower level than it's designed for?
... Any metamagic effects (or other effects that altered the spell's level) apply, so a 5th level pearl of power can recall the quickened magic missile you've already cast...


As noted elsewhere in the FAQ, metamagic feats don't actually alter a spell's level.
 


pawsplay said:
Part of this one is wrong:

Can a pearl of power be used to recall a spell of a lower level than it's designed for?
... Any metamagic effects (or other effects that altered the spell's level) apply, so a 5th level pearl of power can recall the quickened magic missile you've already cast...


As noted elsewhere in the FAQ, metamagic feats don't actually alter a spell's level.

But it does affect the level of the spell slot (a 5th level spell slot is required for use of a quickened magic missle in most cases) so I can see what they meant.
 


brehobit said:
And sorcs can't use a metamagic rod of quickening? That seems.... harsh. Had that been make clear before?

Even if the sorcerer takes the Metamagic Specialist starting package from PH2 which allows sorcerers to cast metamagic spells without increasing the casting time...?
 

Remove ads

Top