Reach with strongarm bracers & large longspear?


log in or register to remove this ad

I think it would be threatened 10-15', no threat at 5' as usual.

From the SRD:

Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

So my interpretation is that the large weapon provides what would be a large creatures reach on top of the natural reach of 5' feet for medium. The unthreatened area remains the same since the wielder is still a medium creature.

At least that's how I would rule it. Others may say your reach is 15' only and you can't threaten 5'-10' which I can also see the reasoning behind but I think you'd be able to choke up on a longspear easily enough at that length.
 

Larger sized weapons no longer increase your reach. Baring other reach-improving features, that creature with longspear threatens 10' with a donut at 5'.
 


Actually, technically you only gain reach when you're wielding "a reach weapon sized for you", which a large longspear isn't for a medium creature, no matter your feats, racial abilities, or items.
 

That seems a little dubious....So if you use a reach weapon that's a size too big you threaten 0 feet?

They already built in a penalty for using weapons that are the wrong size. Use that instead of a silly ruling based on the 'sized for you' text.


A supersized value meal at Macdonalds gives me a larger penalty in the form of even more clogged arteries and more heartburn....But it is still just the right size for me! :-p
 

Well, strongarm bracers, I think most would rule, make a (for example) Large weapon "sized" for a Medium creature wearing them. Of note is the fact it at least sort of counts as Powerful Build (since it explicitly doesn't stack with it).
 

Elethiomel said:
Actually, technically you only gain reach when you're wielding "a reach weapon sized for you", which a large longspear isn't for a medium creature, no matter your feats, racial abilities, or items.

Even more technically, a Large creature gains reach when wielding a reach weapon "of appropriate size". For Medium creatures (or, indeed, Huge creatures), such a restriction doesn't appear in the text.

-Hyp.
 

According to Sage Advice in Dragon #333 regarding wielding oversized weapons (via Monkey's Grip/Powerful Build) "While this reference {PHB p113 on Reach} doesn't mention the ability to wield a weapon larger than the appropriate size, allowing such a weapon to grant reach to its wielder is a reasonable extension of the spirit and intent of the rule."

Personally, I side with the Sage on this one, and allow a greater reach when one uses an oversized reach weapon.

As always, YMMV.
 

Dannyalcatraz said:
Personally, I side with the Sage on this one, and allow a greater reach when one uses an oversized reach weapon.

As always, YMMV.

Of course, as always. But still, seriously? You give more reach to people using larger than normal weapons? Or am I misinterpreting?

I go by page 29 of the DMG under Big Creatures, first line:

"Large or larger creatures with reach weapons can strike out to double their natural reach but can't use their weapons [presumably the aformentioned reach weapons, and not necessarily ALL their weapons] at their natural reach or less."

And extrapolate for other sizes. It's always just double natural reach, so even if a Medium human's somehow using a Huge lance, it's still only reach 10 ft. I also allow Tiny creatures with reach weapons to threaten out to 5 ft, which is probably not RAW.

[sblock]I personally hate the 3.5 doubling system and prefer 3.0 / AE's less broken system, which basically just extends reach (and "too close to attack" range) by +5 ft with a reach weapon. Much more sensible.[/sblock]
 

Remove ads

Top