Converting True Dragons

freyar

Extradimensional Explorer
Total Mystara novice here, and the original thread gives a 404- what's a "true dragon?"
In 3.X D&D and offshoots, it's a dragon with all the usual age categories from wyrmling to great wyrm, like the metallic and chromatic dragons. Opal, the one we're converting now, isn't really a true dragon since he's unique and doesn't have age categories. But he is a deity-like overlord for many of the types of true dragons, which is why we're converting him in this thread.

Cleon

Legend
Total Mystara novice here, and the original thread gives a 404- what's a "true dragon?"

It's a term for a "proper dragon" that matures through age categories or a Unique dragon with an equivalent level of power, like Bahamut.

For example, a 3E True Dragon hatches out as a Wyrmling and can grow through twelve age categories, with the final one being Great Wyrm.

If you're old school and play a Mystara campaign using the "classic" Basic/Expert/Companion/Master/Immortal rules the standard dragons are ranked by Size Category rather than Age Category, being either Small, Large and Huge. In BECMI, a Large Dragon has pretty much 150% the Hit Dice of a Small Dragon, while a Huge Dragon has 200% the HD. The attacks and spell use of the BECMI dragon also get more powerful with Size.

By contrast, there are draconic monsters like Wyverns and Dracimeras that might technically be a type of dragon, but they aren't True Dragons. Like a chimpanzee is a Hominid but isn't a human.

Cleon

Legend
:p

Let's go with floating disc. We don't use that one very much.

Next, Pearl has
2nd—blindness/deafness, cat's grace, detect thoughts, hideous laughter, mirror image;

Maybe swap cat's grace out for another ability booster? Detect thoughts is also redundant due to an at will SLA. And hideous laughter is 3/day. Thoughts on replacements? Want to go with a druid spell for one of them?

Hmm, eagle's splendor for the ability booster?