• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

New to table top looking for advice and tips

Thorburgh

First Post
Hey everyone this is my first time on the site i hope i am putting this in the right area. If not i am sorry and maby someone could direct me to the correct location to open said thread.

Anyway like the title said I am new to table top and new to RPing in general took an interest in it after reading some skyrim RPing on a forum once over this summer. But my help is I am looking at picking up a set of books and such for D&D and was wanting to know what the best edition for a beginner would be and maby some tips on putting together a story and general DMing or if there are any great campaigns that would be good for starts to learn how to dm and gain a handle on the game.

Like I said I am very new to table top RP games like this and would love some tips/advice to getting a good group/game going that my friends would enjoy have several interested just need the material and know how to play and advice/tip would be very helpful thanks! :D

Ramaster

Adventurer
Welcome to the hobby! You are going to have the time of your life!

Well, for starters, IMO the best way to start roleplaying is finding an established book. It is SO MUCH easier to get a good grasp on the rules and the general gameplay aspects that way. It will also give you the chance to try out some different systems before making a purchase.

Right now, my favorite game is probably Pathfinder, which is the "Spiritual Successor" of the 3rd edition rules for Dungeons and Dragons and so I highly recommend that.

I would advise against starting with D&D, since the new edition comes out next year (probably) and is looking out to be pretty good (YMMV).

Welcome again to great world of RPGing!!!

Thorburgh

First Post