D&D 5E Opinions about Stromwreck Isle

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator
A friend of mine, who has zero experience with RPGs, has asked some advice about her 11-years-old daughter. The daughter also has no RPG experience, but she's a fan of Stranger Things and is intrigued by D&D.

The Phandelver Starter Set is apparently OOP in Italian (the girl doesn't read English); it can be purchased on the secondary market, but it seems to be more expensive. It is also available - for free - in PDF, but I think that having a physical product would be much better.

So, I'm asking for opinions abot the Dragons of Stormwreck Isle Starter Set. How is it as an introductory product for a total newbie?

darjr

I crit!
I think it’s pretty good. If she understands English there are a few tutorial videos WotC did that covers running it. I wonder if they have Spanish versions if those videos.

aco175

Legend
I have it but not run it yet. I found several things that I wanted to change to make it a bit longer for a campaign. This might be me having been a DM for so long and my players wanting a bit more. For a total newbie it is ok. I liked Lost Mines better since it has a town where you can get help. Stormwreck has a shrine with kobolds which may make for a poor introduction to the game.

Not sure if the Essentials Kit is available in other languages, but imo that's the way to go for a new player. Besides the basic rules and adventure book, it comes with some handout cards for the magic items, initiative tracker cards, a poster map of the town, and a basic DM screen. Pretty good amount of content to help a new DM. I seem to recall it having cards for sidekicks too, so you can run it with just a DM and 1 player.

Edit: Can't vouch for the site, but it does seem to be available in Italian here.

Clint_L

Hero