• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

[Playtest 2] Putting The Kobolds To Work

MortalPlague

Adventurer
I finally had a chance to do a proper playtest last night, and here's how it went down. I had everyone make characters (we rolled for stats), and I decided to run "Reclaiming Blingdenstone" with only one change; orc xp was reduced to 200xp each. Before making any drastic changes, I wanted to see how things ran.

The Heroes:

Tavros, a Human Sorcerer was a Bounty Hunter by trade, and a Jack Of All Trades by specialty. Burning hands proved to be his best friend.

Bree Tealeaf, a Halfling Slayer Fighter was a Thief and a Survivor. Armed with her trusty sling and her combat expertise, she was a danger to her foes.

Corporal Anselm Vandergruut of Dawn Brigade Ursa, a Human War Cleric of Pelor, he was also a capable Soldier and Guardian.

Entering Blingdenstone

The first order of business was to go see Karglen, since he was in charge. The PCs took stock of the situation, asking him how they could best help. He told them the orcs were the most urgent threat, but he put the retrieval of the crown on equal footing. Anselm saw his longing for the crown, and inwardly wondered if that were good. The characters were treated to see Karglen's map of the city, and they asked to transcribe it. They had paper, so they quickly took down a map of the city.

Acquiring the map changed the feel of the game. I think it took away some of the exploration elements, but it also made it easier to see where things were in relation to each other. I'm not sure how I will handle this at PAX.