Tuning up Al-Qadim(for 4E/5E and beyond)

Roseweave

Explorer
Okay, so a bit of a heads up here. I'm not Arab or Persian or really that much of an expert on Islam & Middle Eastern Folklore, but I am studying such things and am likely a little more knowledgeable than the average person and have a good idea of what might be offensive or jarringly inaccurate. I have been studying Islam and as an extension Islamic cultures to some degree, and also reading up on Al Qadim. I think despite the obvious orientalism, there are some good ideas there with regards how to create adventures that draw from a different set of folklore. Zakhara largely disappeared for 4E. Afterall, you still have Calimshan et. all for Middle Eastern-ish adventures, which for some people might work better. But given the prominence of creatures like Jinn, Ghouls, Rocs, Golems, it makes sense to elaborate a bit more on the Middle Eastern, North African & Muslim influenced areas.

I'm honestly sure if this is something that should even be attempted. It is a sort of appropriation, but at the same time if we're remixing European cultural elements, shouldn't we remix others? I'm not sure, but here's some of the ideas I came up with. Buckle in for some Theology and rants about Jinn and stuff.

Religion: Fate and the "8 Enlightened Gods"