• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

ZEITGEIST Zeitgeist Battle Maps [WIP]

Terraism

Explorer
I'm gearing up to run a Zeitgeist campaign, probably starting in early September as my gaming group has a different major event going for someone every week of August. On the upside, that means I've got a large bit of lead time to get some work in preparing. We game via MapTool, as we're spread out across half the USA, and I'm a graphic designer, so I love being able to take advantage of the digital format to have some fairly detailed maps of the encounters.

Which means that my spare time lately has been spent, in large portion, working on putting together full-scale battle maps for Zeitgeist #1. I've made progress on a few of them, but right now, the one coming along best is the Royal Square for the very first encounter. I know, for a fact, that I've spent far more time on it than it really warrants, given that there's at least a chance of not even having a combat (okay, this is my group, so no, there isn't), but it's just caught my fancy and I keep coming back to it. In any case, I'm going to go ahead and just post the battlemaps as I finish/reach good WIP breakpoints for them, starting with the Royal Square.

As a general rule, I do most of the mapping using Photoshop, with a combination of a lot of textures and homemade pieces in combination with copious amounts of user art from the Dundjinni forums. At the end, I apply a further chunk of post-processing for lights and the like.

Terraism

Explorer
The Royal Square

Click for the larger version: