firm rulings

nswanson27

First Post
So I know that 5e is all about "rulings, not rules". However, it seems to me like the very nature of AL either requires firm rulings on certain things (that a DM is not allowed to go against), or you end up getting an inconsistent play experience across different DMs that IMO breaks the immersion and "fun" of adventuring in certain situations.
I'll grant for minor things, is isn't a big deal. But suppose I have a battle master that takes disarming strike as one of their maneuvers. It's easy to see that the value of that maneuver greatly depends on whether or not the PC is allow to pick up the disarmed weapon. Otherwise, the enemy can just pick up the disarmed weapon using their free action, and continue as normal. In other words, one day disarming mechanic works one way, and the next day (to my character's dismay and bewilderment) it works another way. I don't see any upsides ways to spin this to make this "fun" for players.
It's impossible to know what future DMs that I've never met will rule on it, and rather than risk it, it makes me not pick that maneuver at all. Since AL already limits on what DMs can do with regards to magic items and rewards, why not limit them on certain rulings that creates such scenarios for the players? I'm not suggest that there are a lot of these, just the most egregious examples.

Pauper

That guy, who does that thing.
The argument I've always heard is 'where do you draw the line?' What's egregious for one player might not matter to another, and vice versa, so if you start issuing rulings, you get requests to basically issue 'all the rulings', because to someone, that ruling is a possible game-breaker.