D&D 5E Character progression - need an advice

Ermengildo

First Post
Hi guys. I'm pretty new to d&d so I need some advice on further progression of my character.
Right now I'm lvl 5: rogue (at) 3 / wizard (bladesinger) 2. And mostly I use hit'n'run style with scag cantrips.
We have very slow XP progression so every lvlup is important and I'm thinking what should I take next few lvls.
The options I see right now are:
- going wizard 5 for ASI at 7 and haste at 8
- going one more rogue lvl for ASI and 3 more Wiz levels after to get ASI at 6 and 8 and haste at 5
- going strait rogue for better sneak and cool rogue/at abilities

I've never played lvl 5+ characters before so it's pretty hard to evaluate all the benefits of all the options and choose the best one, so I'll be grateful for any advice u can give.

Blue

Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal
Welcome, I hope you are having fun!

That's a good question. With multiclass characters it's easier to accidentally gimp yourself and feel like you are lagging a bit behind the other characters.

With your melee focus and great AC, it seems like a focus on more rogue will serve you better than more wizard for spells.

ASIs are important, I would head for rogue 4. And probably up to rogue 5 for another die of sneak attack as well as uncanny dodge.

You mention Haste, which is a great spell to buff you. I want to point out something that seems like a disadvantage but may be a strength of it. The extra action is limited in what you can do. You can't cast another SCAG cantrip, so it may seem like it's a bit of a power down. But you can do an Attack action, and there are a bunch of feats that grant "if you do an attack action..." like Dual Wielder, which can then give you a bonus action attack with an off-hand weapon. Just something to think about. (You still can only deal SA once per turn, but you have more chances to land a hit to apply it.)