The FAQ is possibly the least trusted rules source on these boards, at least in the Rules Forum. Some folks don't understand why lots of posters dislike the FAQ, and others who don't like it lack the resources to fully support their dislike of it. So in this thread I will compile all the instances where the FAQ is demonstrably contrary to the RAW.
Problem: I'm not intimiately familiar with all of them. So please, post your thoughts and provide citations if you can. Thanks.
The criteria will be that assuming the FAQ did not exist, what does the RAW say about the subject. It will be noted if and when the RAW is ambiguous.
-----------------------
1. The FAQ states Sunder may be used multiple times in a full attack. (version 6/21/06)
2. The FAQ contradicts itself as to provocation of an AoO when standing up from prone as a free action using Tumble. (version 2/25/05)
3. The FAQ contradicts itself as to the ability of a monk to use gauntlets and their eligibility for use in a flurry of blows. (version 6/21/2006)
4. The FAQ states that weapon categories (light, one-handed, two-handed) are dependent upon how the weapon is wielded. (version 6/21/06)
Problem: I'm not intimiately familiar with all of them. So please, post your thoughts and provide citations if you can. Thanks.
The criteria will be that assuming the FAQ did not exist, what does the RAW say about the subject. It will be noted if and when the RAW is ambiguous.
-----------------------
1. The FAQ states Sunder may be used multiple times in a full attack. (version 6/21/06)
- Table 8-2 clearly shows that sunder is specifically a Standard Action and may not be used when iterative attacks are available by the lack of Footnote 7.
2. The FAQ contradicts itself as to provocation of an AoO when standing up from prone as a free action using Tumble. (version 2/25/05)
- pp 24-25 that standing up as a free action with a DC 35 Tumble check provokes an attack of opportunity
- pp 26-27 states that standing up as a free action with a DC 35 Tumble check does not provoke an attack of opportunity
3. The FAQ contradicts itself as to the ability of a monk to use gauntlets and their eligibility for use in a flurry of blows. (version 6/21/2006)
- pp 11-12 states that a gauntlet is technically not an unarmed strike and an attack with one could not be part of a flurry of blows
- p 12 (the next entry) states that "a strike with a gauntlet is ... considered an unarmed attack" and thus may be used in a flurry of blows.
4. The FAQ states that weapon categories (light, one-handed, two-handed) are dependent upon how the weapon is wielded. (version 6/21/06)
- pp 26-27 states: "A medium character using a medium longsword in two hands is using a 'two-handed' weapon." This means that a sword's HP and hardness change depenedent upon how many hands are upon the hilt.
Last edited: