• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

3e Character Advancement Too Fast?

What do you think about the speed at which characters advance in levels in 3e?

• Way too fast

Votes: 61 24.5%
  • A little too fast

Votes: 96 38.6%
  • Just right

Votes: 78 31.3%
  • A little too slow

Votes: 13 5.2%
  • Way too slow

Votes: 1 0.4%

Zerakon

First Post
It seems to me that the 3e experience point and levelling system is too generous. Just wondering if I am in the minority on this. Maybe this is an old topic, but I'm just getting into 3e now.

-- Zerakon the Game Mage

MarauderX

Explorer
Depends on the DM, really, as challege ratings can't make up for better critter tactics, puzzles, saving the princess, etc. I think it's a little fast compared to OD&D of course, but that's just me...

JoeGKushner

First Post
I voted a little too fast.

I enjoy characters in the low to mid levels and that's basically one or two adventurers these days.

Then again, that was part of 2nd ed's structure and I know my players hated that. "Man, how many dragons do we have to kill go gain a level?"

Gothmog

First Post
Way too fast for my taste. I know most people play short campaigns (<1 year), but I always run longer (3+) year campaigns. It seems to me that the way 3E has advancement, a character hardly has time to explore and utilize their new abilities before they advance again. My solution was to ditch the CR/XP system and only give XP for story awards and roleplaying with a slower advancement rate (about 1 level per 3-5 adventures).

Isida Kep'Tukari

Adventurer
Supporter