• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 4E 4e virgin looking for answers

Reverend47

First Post
I've been playing D&D and at least a dozen other systems for many years now but my group has been highly reluctant to try out 4e. We just got a new player in who has nearly every major supplement for 4e as well as the core books which he inherited from a sibling who died. He himself has only played a few sessions. I'm the standard GM for our group and I have never played 4e but I'm going to be GMing it. I've been reading through the books and trying to get an idea. We're going to be running a module and later today a few friends are going to come over and we're going to play Keep on the Shadowfell (?) to get a handle on the rules. I have quite a few questions and was hoping some of the more experianced types here could give me a hand.

1) Is there any method of changing your class as the game goes on? I know that the multiclassing in the game is about ability replacement, but is there any way to actually change your class? Let's say a fighter becomes more religous and wants to become a cleric? Is there any way to do so?

2) My group loves to dual wield, from what I get dual wielding requires powers that use both weapons. What classes have these and what books are they in?

3) One of my players has been wanting to play a grappler in D&D since time began. With 3.x I threatened to beat his skull in with the spell compendium if he tried it. Is grappling more streamlined and effective (can't find rules on it)

(there will probably be more)

Last edited:

renau1g

First Post