• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

A question about grab/other mechanics

tobiasosir

First Post
Hello1

Please bear with me, as I'm completely new to D&D (a total of 3 sessions under my belt, plus lots of reading), so I may be missing something simple here.

My character is a first level fighter who uses a longspear. Her background: she was once part of a group of vampire slayers, and very good at it--but on her latest encounter, she was bitten just as she killed the vampire. She hasn't turned, but was left with a strong aversion to sunlight. Her boss also fired her, thinking she was now a liability. This was a background created by the DM (who built our characters, but is allowing us to change things if we want).

I've built up the back story a bit more and have grown to really like the character. She's started to get a bit creepy, running around in a heavy cloak whenever it's day, sulking sharpening her spear, generally refusing to talk about her past, desperate to save others from evil, etc. Now I want to take it further.

We're going to be getting to level two soon, so I'm trying to plan ahead as to what feat I'll be taking, and there's one that particularly appeals to me for flavor reasons: vampiric heritage. It fits perfectly with the back story--she is more 'tainted' than she thought, and is slowly gaining more vampiric traits, but struggles against them.

Anyway, this is all well and good, and it gives me a cool--and very creepy--power to use, Blood Drain. The power says that you can inflict damage on a grabbed target, then spend a healing surge on a hit.