• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Advice On Conversions From a d20 Sourcebook

JTorres

First Post
I'm relatively new to D&D and I was looking to use Penumbra Fantasy Bestiary in an upcoming campaign. I'm only familar with 3.5 so I'd like some advice on what exactly I should be changing when using 3.0 monsters in 3.5. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

-J.Torres

BOZ

Creature Cataloguer
well, i personally have converted a number of them while working on the Monster Geographica series for Expeditious Retreat Press. :) tell me which ones you need, and i may have them already done!

JTorres

First Post
BOZ said:
well, i personally have converted a number of them while working on the Monster Geographica series for Expeditious Retreat Press. :) tell me which ones you need, and i may have them already done!

Thanks for the reply! :)

For the first adventures I'm going to be using the Dark Advocate, Bog Slain and Court of the Pale King out of the Penumbra Fantasy Bestiary but the rest of the monsters are out of the MM. I like a lot of the creatures in the PFB and I plan to use some more but I just haven't planned out very far ahead. Do you have a pdf or maybe a link where I can find your conversion work? Thanks.

BOZ

Creature Cataloguer
The Bog Slain that i converted (much help from the folks on this forum, of course) should be found in Monster Geographica: Marsh and Aquatic - don't have a link available, though it is being sold in PDF format. i just completed a bunch of monsters from the Penumbra Fantasy Bestiary for the MG: Forest volume. i haven't converted the others you mentioned.

in the meantime, here are the stats as complete as they were when i sent them to the editor:

Bog Slain
Medium Undead
Hit Dice: 6d12 (39 hp)
Initiative: +0
Speed: 30 ft. (6 squares), swim 20 ft. (4 squares)