• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Are new gamers always shy?

Sage

Explorer
I remember I was, I used to sit and and let the others do most of the talking. This was though only to a certain extent, because I learnt roleplaying at about the same time as those I gamed with, but when I was playing with a more experienced group, I was kind of over-run, since the others where always doing something, and I had trouble assimilating it all and making a responce.

Now that I've been gaming for many years I see the same tendency at the new players in the youth-club where I game most of the time (and I feel kinda guilty, since I think that I'm probably saying too much and not giving the new players a chance). Is this always (or almost always) the case.

Does anyone have any idea to what can be done to this?

One thing we do where I game is that we play a game called "psycho-murderer", yep. It's basically that everyone beyond the person controlling the game pretends to sleep (and make sure that they can't see anything), then the "GM" goes around and shoves gently to one or more of the players (this game is best with large groups). Everyone then wakes up, and the "GM" anounces that he has been murdered. The players then have to agree upon (or a large majority has to agree) who's the murderer, and, well, kill him (because he's a murderer :) ). Then the city sleeps again, the murderer(s) wake up (if they're still alive) and point at someone who then dies. That person is then dead and no longer in the game. If nobody dies then they know that they've got the murderer.
The game goes on until the murderer(s) are dead, or they are the only ones left alive.